#RPGaDAY 2017 – What has been the best-run RPG Kickstarter you have backed?

Do miniatures count as an RPG Kickstarter? If so, then I’m going to go with Ryan Wolfe’s map posters & miniature Kickstarters for space ship and space stations. I’ve backed at least half-a-dozen of these so far and for my pledge, I get a miniature-scale ship/station poster map (with PDFs) and a highly detailed resin miniature and base. Not only that, but in each and every case, the rewards have shipped no later than a week after the funding period completed. I’ve pre-ordered products from Amazon with longer turn-around time than that.

You may be thinking “Hey! Miniatures are RPG-related products and this question is about RPGs!” OK, fine. If I have to pick an RPG Kickstarter than I would say was the best run, it’s a toss-up between the various Cypher System Kickstarters run by Monte Cook Games and Goodman Games’s Kickstarters. I’ve backed several projects from both of these companies and neither have failed to impress me with their communication, quality, and timeliness. That’s not to say I haven’t received products late from either of them, but their communication was open enough that the delay wasn’t unexpected and I never felt taken advantage of. Plus, working in publishing myself, the delays were within what I would consider reasonable given the nature of publishing and printing. They are both companies I have absolute confidence will deliver a quality product in a timely manner and I don’t hesitate to back their Kickstarters if they’re offering a product in which I am interested.

 

Categories: Random Thoughts | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

