#RPGaDAY 2017 – Describe a game experience that changed how you play.

I run games more than I play them, so this is a difficult question to answer (it’s also not really a question). There was a time when I felt if the game wasn’t “new,” then it wasn’t worth playing. A new game HAD to be better than an old game, right?

New = Better?

Then I went to my first Gary Con, Gary Con II and I played AD&D again. I played Star Frontiers again. I realized that just because a game was old and/or out-of-print (i.e. “Dead”), didn’t mean it wasn’t fun. Playing those games again re-opened a world of play I thought closed. Now, the age of a game doesn’t factor into my decision whether or not I think it’ll be fun.

I can’t go into details on about the playing experience itself. It’s been too long and I’ve played too many games since to have specific memories about the experiences themselves.

Categories: Random Thoughts | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

