#RPGaDAY 2017 – What was your most impactful RPG session?

That’s a tough one. I’ve never had a profoundly emotional, gut-wrenching or eye-opening experience while playing an RPG. Still, I can think of two sessions where I either thought afterwards “That was awesome.” or remember that it must’ve been awesome.

It Must Have Been Awesome
My very first D&D game. Moldvay Basic Set and Keep on the Borderlands. After that first game, I had to have a copy for myself. I ended up only being able to find the Mentzer Expert Set, but my library had the Moldvay Basic Set (we didn’t understand the Moldvay/Mentzer revision difference at the time, and we didn’t care). Between me and my friends, we probably had that Basic Set checked out for the greater part of a year. I ended up with a Mentzer Basic Set and still didn’t care that it wasn’t the same “edition” as the Moldvay I’d fallen in love with. It was all the same game to me. We were all a little confused why there seemed to be two different versions and throwing AD&D into the mix added to that confusion. So, we just mix and matched to our hearts content and no game was broken, no RPG police came to confiscate our stuff (parents and Church leaders were another matter, however).

It was awesome
Ever played a Call of Cthulhu game run by a professional performer? I have. It. Was. Awesome.

What made it even more awesome is the game was an adaptation of a reality TV show called Mountain Monsters (airing on Destination America) about a group of Appalachian hunters and trappers intent on discovering the truth about cryptid sightings in Appalachia. It also happened to be the first time I’d ever played Call of Cthulhu. The following two years the same GM has run a follow-up game to that first session building on the events and it was an awesome trilogy of hillbilly horror.

Now that’s a phrase I never thought I’d say.

 

Categories: Random Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

