#RPGaDAY 2017 – How do you find out about new RPGs?

I follow a lot of game designers/companies on social media, so I often hear about new games on Twitter or Facebook. Less frequently, someone will post about a new game on one of the forums I frequent. Most often, though, I hear about a new game when the publisher submits it to the ENnie Awards (for which I serve as Submissions Coordinator).

This is definitely not a foolproof method, especially if it’s a game I would have been interested in backing on Kickstarter. Several times a year I find out about a game I think sounds cool enough that I want to support its creation AFTER funding ends on Kickstarter. If the funding campaign was successful, it just means I have to spend more money to get what I want. If the funding campaign was NOT successful, however, it means I may never see the game.

I have yet to find a reliable method to hear about all the game that come out in a given year. Of course, I can’t afford to buy every game, even if I wanted to, so maybe it’s for the best. I don’t know how I missed out on the Rifts® for Savage Worlds Kickstarter, though. I even know it was coming ahead of a time.

Categories: Random Thoughts | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

