D&D 30-Day Challenge – Day 10

D&D 30 Day Challenge

Day 10 – Craziest in-game experience

The D&D games I’ve played in have never really been crazy-go-nuts cuckoo bananas, so this story might seem pretty mundane. I was playing my dwarven fighter, Balthazar Bouldercrusher, in a Spelljammer game in the mid-90s. We had landed our ship, At-Will (rechristened because of a poorly-worded Wish that allowed one of the officers to heal anyone fully “at-will”; it only worked when we were at a location called “At-Will”, so we renamed our ship that), on a planet and were doing something, as adventurers do. We came across the lair of a dragon. Naturally, most of the crew turned tail and ran. At this point, I was already fed up with the harassment I was receiving from one of the other players because I was the new guy in the group and I didn’t drink, smoke, or smoke weed, so I didn’t have any sense of self-preservation with this character. I got myself in a position to jump on the dragon’s back. So, it flies out of it’s lair while I’m wailing away at its head with my vorpal battle axe.

I didn’t single-handedly defeat the dragon, but I did show up all the other characters who had fled from the creature. Only Balthazar was willing to stand fight, and he survived to fight another day.

Like I said, it’s not a crazy story, but it was one of the few crowning moments of awesome I’ve had with a character.

And now that I’ve typed all that out, I thought of something that might actually be considered crazy. I don’t want to delete everything I wrote, so you get a two-fer. I was playing an anti-social halfling druid in D&D 3.5. I don’t remember why we were investigating a dam some bandits had built, or why they had barrels of smokepowder, but I remember what I did with them. I wildshaped into a gorilla and started flinging barrels of smokepowder at the bandits and the dam.

IT WAS ON LIKE DONKEY KONG.

That’s a true story. We blew up the dam and defeated the bandits. It was awesome. My character left the party shortly thereafter because I had his character background written in a corner; he literally had no other reason to continue adventuring with the group at that point, and the GM wasn’t throwing me any reasons for him to stay with the group, either.

Categories: D&D, Random Thoughts | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “D&D 30-Day Challenge – Day 10

  1. Great story – especially the Donkey Kong Druid. But there’s one thing which really touches on a fundamental point of role-playing and Player-GM dynamics. You write: “he literally had no other reason to continue adventuring with the group at that point, and the GM wasn’t throwing me any reasons for him to stay with the group, either.”

    Why was it the GM’s job to keep you in the group? And more in general: Whose responsibility is it to make the party viable as a team? The GM or the players? In my campaign, I put that onus squarely on the players. If they can’t make their team work, they will fail. As a GM I have plenty on my plate as it is.

    • I agree the onus should be on the players, but I think the GM can help out a bit if a player tells him/her that they are having trouble coming up with in-game reasons. Kind of like when an actor asks the director for help finding their characters motivation. At that point, my characters personal meta plot was fulfilled and he had already established through RP that his whole reason for adventuring was done. Sure, I could have stayed and just ignored the fact that I was a Druid leaving his home forest for no reason; no one else had a problem with that. I did, so I asked for suggestions and got shrugs and blank stares as replies.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

