D&D 30-Day Challenge – Days 1 & 2

Something new this month:D&D 30 Day ChallengeI don’t know the origin of the Challenge (or the graphic; I found it scrolling through my Twitter feed). Since it’s already June 2, I’ll be combining Day 1 and 2 into one post. Feel free to add your own answers & anecdotes in the comments!

Day 1 – How you got started

I got started when a friend brought over a game in a magenta box and told me about this cool new game a friend of his introduced him to. It was the Moldvay Basic set and he ran me through Keep on the Borderlands, one GM, one player (yeah, we didn’t know what we were doing, really). I was hooked.

Over the next 4-5 years we played using a combination of Moldvay sets, Mentzer sets, and AD&D. The more we played the more we understood (how encumbrance worked came to me in an epiphany a few years after I started playing, though I still didn’t understand the notation of 100XP + 5/HP… I though when you killed the monster, you gained 100XP PLUS 5 HP. Our characters were SUPERTANKS… ah, the folly of youth.

We didn’t understand the game entirely, but we had a hell of a lot of fun.

Day 2 – Favorite PC Race

I tend to gravitate toward the shorter races: dwarves, gnomes, and halflings. I mostly DM, so I don’t often get to create characters, and when I do, what I create is as much dictated by the needs of the group as it is my current mood. The characters I’ve enjoyed the most were dwarves and halflings, though… but that’s a different question.

Categories: D&D, Random Thoughts | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “D&D 30-Day Challenge – Days 1 & 2

  1. tink333

    Day 1 – I got started when I went to Gary Con with hubby. He was scheduled to play Metamorphosis Alpha with none other than James Ward. I usually sat on the sidelines and watched, but Jim insisted I play despite my protests that I didn’t know how. I had a blast, and the rest is history.

    Day 2
    I tend to enjoy playing gnomes, elves, anything not human, but I am usually happy to fill if the group needs me to play something else.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

