Star Wars: Edge of the Empire – Beyond the Rim, part 1

The following post is written from an in-character point of view by the rodian scout Kelko Gen. It contains spoilers for Fantasy Flight Game’s Edge of the Empire adventure Beyond the Rim.

SWEotE logo

Since blasting away from Mos Shuuta and that miserable dirt-ball planet, Tatooine, we’ve been busy fixing up the ship. We had to borrow some money to get things working again and I took the opportunity to rechristen the ship. Banshee. It took a while, but it fits better than Krayt Fang for us. I think we’re more likely to run screaming from a serious threat than to start biting it to death. At least, that’s my intention. I didn’t take all that time to acquire a ship just to die in a futile gesture of heroics for someone who won’t appreciate everything we’ve sacrificed.

Some time during our trip to The Wheel to meet up with our twi’lek benefactor, we discovered a droid the former occupant of our ship was keeping. I didn’t catch its designation, but Braddock surmised it was a bounty Trex captured. Well, anything to mess with that nasty Transdoshan is tops with me, so we activated the droid and invited it to accompany us to our meetings on The Wheel. The job the twi’lek had for us to was simple: go to a remote planet, find a long lost ship, and salvage some junk from it. The ship has been missing for so long it’s almost legendary at this point, and he just happened to have another droid for us to take along, IT-3PO, who once belonged to the former captain. Our stowaway droid started talking about double-crossing the twi’lek and keeping whatever salvage we recovered and selling it for our own gain. One of the humans wanted to haul jets right away (I think it was Maximo…it’s hard to tell those two apart; I should make them wear name badges), but I vetoed that idea. We needed to buy supplies and do some research while waiting for IT-3PO. The job was not to abandon our one passenger and do the job without him…it….whatever.

Now, I might not be above stealing from the rich to give to the poor (me–in fact, that’s usually a pretty good policy because those rich guys usually earn their money on the back of hardworking folk like me), but a deal’s a deal, and we already owed this guy. We surreptitiously deactivated the droid and stowed him in our cargo hold while we stocked up on supplies and equipment we would need on our expedition. (The droid’s player had to leave early to deal with a family emergency.) There was serious talk of slapping a restraining bolt on that droid, and despite our decision to NOT do it, we bought some anyway…just in case. I made sure Banshee had medpacs and space suits, just in case, while the others bought whatever they thought they would need. Once again, Maximo was short on money, so the rest of us had to make sure there was enough food and a space suit for him. For a brief moment, I thought about not getting a space suit for him and then, if we lost pressure I’d see what happens to a squishy human when exposed to total vacuum. I figured that might get messy, so I relented. Azira did some pretty brilliant research and got us an exact location and an efficient hyperspace route to the planet where this ship allegedly went down, so if nothing else, we’ll get there in one piece. I hear the planet is crawling with nexu. Good thing we have an expert planetary scout with us. (That’s me.)

IT-3PO took his sweet time getting to us, and it turns out, a 5-pack of rodians (they give honest acquirers of unlicensed antiquities like me a bad name) wanted him worse then we did. The two humans gave chase, causing all manner of commotion in The Wheel while Azira and I wisely stayed behind with the ship. I already felt like talking to too many people on the station would jeopardize our expedition, and I didn’t want to take the chance that someone would break in and steal my stolen newly-acquired ship. I helpfully called station security and eventually they brought the two humans, along with IT-3PO back to us. The charges against our humans were fairly serious (public endangerment, joy riding, vehicular theft, assault, etc.) and I only think a couple of the charges might have been embellished. Fortunately, the proper application of credits to the palm of someone in authority works better than those high-paid attorneys of which the Coruscanti Snobbery Elite are so fond. I’m going to have to start a ledger or something, because said money always seems to come from MY pockets. I don’t even like humans!

Maybe they’ll earn their keep on this planet we’re going to.

We got a distressingly late start on the night’s session and I blew both knowledge rolls I made, so I didn’t get back into the swing of using the dice. There’s still at least 2-3 sessions of this by my estimate, so I’m looking forward to playing with this system. Plus, it seems likely much of the next session will take place in a planetary wilderness and that’s just Kelko Gen’s cup of tea errr…caf…coffeine…whatever the Star Warsy equivalent is. We’ve started discussing what we’re going to do after this Star Wars adventure is finished and I shared the revelation I had at Gary Con that I wasn’t burned out on GMing, I was just burned out on GMing Pathfinder. It seems likely we’re going to spend some time playing one-shots of various systems to see what’s a good fit for our group. I already have an idea for a fun Fate Accelerated one-shot (1938, Nazi-controlled cyborg gorillas…that’s all I’m sayin’).

Categories: Star Wars RPG | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

