The High-Level Adventures

This one is a doozy. Basic D&D goes up to level 36. AD&D has no theoretical upper limit. D&D 3.X maxes out at 20 for normal play, then moves to Epic-level play at 21+. Pathfinder tops out at level 20. D&D 4E goes to level 30.

I don’t recall playing any game of D&D past the low-teens. Ever. There also weren’t a lot of adventures written for those levels back in the day. The highest-level adventure I own is for characters of levels 16-20 written for Pathfinder. Fortunately, each successive edition of D&D featured a power jump, so what works for 14th-level in AD&D is a cake walk for 14th-level Pathfinder or D&D 4E characters.

Conversion of these adventures will be more challenging, I think, so I’ll have to consider very carefully what to do to make it as close to the original as possible.

Coliseum Morpheuon
(Pathfinder, 16-20)
Q1: Queen of the Demonweb Pits
(AD&D 1st Edition, 10-14)
D1: Descent into the Depths of the Earth
(AD&D 1st Edition, 9-14)
Queen of Lies
(D&D 3.5, 11th level)
D2: Shrine of the Kuo-Toa
(AD&D 1st Edition, 9-14)
R3: Rappan Athuk 3 – The Dungeon of Graves: The Lower Levels
(D&D 3.0, 12th level+)
D3: Vault of the Drow
(AD&D 1st Edition, 10-14)
S1: Tomb of Horrors
(AD&D 1st Edition, 10-14)
EX1: Dungeonland
(AD&D 1st Edition, 9-12)
S3: Expedition to the Barrier Peaks
(AD&D 1st Edition, 8-12)
EX2: The Land Beyond the Magic Mirror
(AD&D 1st Edition, 9-12)
WG5: Mordenkainen’s Magnificent Adventure
(AD&D 1st Edition)
G1: Steading of the Hill Giant Chief
(AD&D 1st Edition, 8-12)
D3: The Demon Within
(D&D 3.5, 11th level+)
G2: The Glacial Rift of the Frost Giant Jarl
(AD&D 1st Edition, 8-12)
J2: Guardians of Dragonfall
(D&D 3.5, 11th level)
G3: Hall of the Fire Giant King
(AD&D 1st Edition, 8-12)

As before, the adventures I’m favoring are highlighted in bold.

I’ve probably read these adventures more than any of the others I own. I’ve played parts of most of them. One brilliant idea I had for running Steading of the Hill Giant Chief is to build the steading out of my old Lincoln Logs. Also, my copy of D3: Vault of the Drow is signed by both Gary Gygax and cover artist Erol Otus. Gary signed it in 2007, at the last Gen Con he attended.

I’m not sure if I told Gary Gygax how influential his game has been in my life. I’m pretty sure I didn’t mention that every one of my friends I have because of D&D (my wife is my ONLY close friend I did not meet as a direct result of playing role-playing games). My life would have taken a very different path indeed were it not for D&D, and such a different path it would have been, I cannot even begin to imagine what it would be. I am very glad to have met him, though. That was one of the best Gen Cons ever.

Categories: Random Thoughts | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The High-Level Adventures

  1. varianor

    Dungeonland et al are so whimsical. That said, I think Steading would go better if you’re starting off with a somewhat serious focus?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

