Searching for a Group

You’d think living in Indianapolis, it would be easy to find other gamers. This is the home of Gen Con, after all. It’s true that there are a lot of gamers here in Indianapolis, and when I was living on my own, it was easy to find people.

But when you have a wife and step-daughter living with you, there are other factors to take into account. The gamers I invite to join me I will be inviting into my home, sharing my personal space (to some extent) with, and giving them food and drinks. I don’t do that (especially the home invitation part) for just anyone. Since I’ll be inviting my wife to join me as a player, her opinion will count when it comes to adding someone to the group. It would count anyway since it’s her house too (technically, it was her house before it was mine), but her opinion weighs double now.

So, I’m starting with people we both know. Not everyone will be interested in this, though. I may have to recruit from outside my regular circle of friends and acquaintances, and that process is always challenging. Every time I’ve advertised for gamers at a gaming store, the respondents I get are the type of gamers you generally don’t want to invite into your home. We’ll see how it goes.

Categories: Random Thoughts | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Searching for a Group

  1. Matt

    I have been in the same boat as you. I have a wife and three kids and before I will invite anyone over to my house to game I like to meet them somewhere neutral like a starbucks or a restaurant for dinner to see if i think they will fit. I like to think I have pretty good instincts, but I also try to invite anyone that is currently in the group to meet as well. Then take a poll afterward to see what everyone thinks.

  2. As Monte always said, never game with someone you wouldn’t do other activities with.

    He may have said it without ending on a preposition, though.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

